Оскар МИЕЧАНИНОФФ

1886 1956
(Belarus) 1886 /   (Etats Unis) 1956

Оскар Миечанинофф был сыном торговца. С 17 лет он делал глиняные скульптуры нищих своего квартала. Недолго проучился в местной школе искусств. В 1905-1906 годах посещал Школу изящных искусств Одессы.

В 1906 году он приехал в Париж. Учился в Школе декоративных искусств, возглавляемой Мерсье и Жозефом Бернаром. Сделал бюст Жозефа Бернара.

Оскар Миечанинофф жил в городке Фальгер. Посещал парижские музеи, такие как Лувр и музей Гиме, что оказало значительное влияние на его творчество. Интересовался искусством Дальнего Востока. Сошелся с художниками с Монпарнаса, среди которых Диего Ривера, Модильяни, Сутин, которые написали его портрет.

С 1918 года французское правительство отправило его на Дальний Восток с официальной миссией по археологическим раскопкам. Оскар посетил Индию, Сиам, Бирму. Путешествовал по Камбодже, изучая кхмерскую скульптуру. Из этих поездок он привёз несколько скульптур, которые представлены сегодня в Музее Гиме.

С 1908 года выставлял свои скульптуры на Салоне французских художников, с 1912 года на Осеннем салоне, на Салоне независимых. В 1937 году в Париже на Всемирной выставке получил золотую медаль за свою скульптуру "Обнажённая женщина".

В 1925 году заказал дом архитектору Ле Корбюзье. Дом был построен на участке, купленном совместно с Жаком Липшицем.

В 1941 году Оскар Миечанинофф уехал жить в США - сначала в Нью-Йорк, затем в Лос-Анджелес.

Oscar Mietschaninoff

1886 1956
(Belarus) 1886 /   (Etats Unis) 1956

Oscar MIESTCHANINOFF

 

Vitbesk (Belarus) 1886 - Los Angeles 1956

Oscar Mietschaninoff was the son of a shopkeeper. From the age of seventeen, he produced clay sculptures of the beggars in his neighborhood. He briefly studied at the local art school. In 1905-1906, he studied at the School of Fine Arts in Odessa.

He arrived in Paris in 1906. He studied at the Ecole des Arts Décoratifs and at the Ecole des Beaux-Arts under Mercié and Joseph Bernard, whose bust he later sculpted.

Oscar Mietschaninoff lived at the Cité Falguière. He visited the museums in Paris, such as the Louvre and the Musée Guimet, which influenced his style. He took an interest in arts from the Far East. Mietschaninoff made friends with other artists in Montparnasse, such as Diego Rivera, Modigliani, and Soutine, who painted his portrait.

From 1918, the French government sent him on an official mission to the Far East to conduct archeological excavations. He discovered India, Siam, and Burma and traveled to Cambodia in order to study Khmer sculpture. He brought back some pieces, which are today exhibited at the Musée Guimet.

Mietschaninoff exhibited his work at the Salon des Artistes Français from 1908, at the Salon d’Automne from 1912 and at the Salon des Indépendants. He was awarded a gold medal for his statue Nude Woman exhibited at the World Fair in 1937.

In 1925, he commissioned the architect Le Corbusier to build him a house in Boulogne-Billancourt on a plot bought in common with Jacques Lipchtiz.

 

In 1914, he moved to the United States. He lived in New York and in Los Angeles.